Civil Society for Accountable Governance

Information Legal Center (ILC) from Slavonski Brod in partnership with the Center for Peace, Non-violence and Human Rights from Osijek (as a project leader), Serbian Democratic Forum,  PAX (Netherlands)  and Hague Academy for Local Governance (Netherlands), has started implementation of a two-year project “Civil Society for Accountable Governance” in the end of 2014. The project is financed from IPA 2011 „Strengthening Support to Civil Society Organizations for Increasing Transparency and Good Governance Public Administration in Croatia“.

The aim of the project is to strengthen capacities of local civil society organizations (CSOs) for monitoring, analysis and reporting on implementation of politics related to good governance and anti-discrimination, strengthen intersector partnership via establishment of the local professional platforms of CSOs, local government and public institutions, national authorities and experts from European Union by support of creation and promotion of the new mechanisms for monitoring politics in the area of good governance and anti-discrimination.

The project activities include strengthening capacities of CSOs , local government and public institutions through the training and follow-up with experts from Netherlands, keeping regular motivational meetings with CSOs and local expert groups – platforms, monitoring of the application of laws & regulations related to good governance and anti-discrimination, generating local reports and final analysis/publications and holding Regional Forum at completion of project implementation.

Project beneficiaries are small, local CSOs dealing with minorities, gender, disabled, youth and human rights, as well as local government and representatives of local public institutions.

Final beneficiaries are citizens in general, local Councils of National Minorities, the Government's Office for Human Rights and Rights of National Minorities  and Public Ombudsman.

The project has been implemented in the area of the Republic of Croatia, in six towns (Osijek, Beli Manastir, Slavonski Brod, Nova Gradiška, Pakrac i Lipik) in Osijek-Baranja, Brod-Posavina and Pozega-Slavonia County.